The undersigned Nobel Prize Laureates, in addition to the support previously given by European Parliamentary groups, express their solidarity for the actions undertaken by the two hunger strikers which, in representation of hundreds of NGOs and well known personalities, condemn the continuing situation suffered by the population of the countries of the Great Lakes, and they request that the Resolution, adopted by the European Parliament on the 12th of December 1996, be put into action without further delay.

We ask the presiding President of the Council (Dutch Presidency) to initiate immediately the organization of those actions necessary to give URGENT HUMANITARIAN AID TO THE REFUGEES AND DISPLACED PEOPLE of Eastern Zaire, to increase sufficiently the number of INTERNATIONAL OBSERVERS in Rwanda and Burundi and to achieve a GLOBAL POLITICAL SOLUTION AND STABLE PEACE in the Great Lakes region.


Adolfo Pérez Esquivel (Peace)

Rita Levi-Montalcini (Medicine)

Betty Williams (Peace)

Jean-Marie Lehn (Chemistry)

John Charles Polanyi (Chemistry)

Christian de Duve (Medicine)

His Holiness the. Dalai Lama (Peace)

Joseph Rotblat (Peace)

International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (Peace)

François Jacob (Medicine)

Mikhael Gorbachev (Peace)

Rigoberta Menchu Tum (Peace)

Mairead Corrigan Maguire (Peace)


Group of the Party of European Socialists

Group of the European People’s Party

Group Union for Europe

Group of the European Liberal, Democrat and Reform Party

Confederacy of the European United Left

The Green Group in the European Parliament

Group of the European Radical Alliance

Group of Independents for a Europe of Nations